
 
Page 1 of 17          *New to report this week 

 

 

 
 
 
Since the start of session, 1,775 new bills have been introduced in the Washington State Legislature, making for a grand 
total of 4,256 bills this biennium. With five weeks left, February 7 was the last opportunity for a bill to exit policy 
committees in its house of origin, unless the bill has a fiscal component. Those bills must pass committee by February 11.  

Upcoming Dates: 
February 11, 2020  
February 19, 2020  
February 28, 2020   
March 2, 2020   
March 6, 2020   
March 12, 2020 

House of Origin Fiscal Cutoff 
House of Origin Floor Cutoff 
Opposite House Policy Cutoff 
Opposite House Fiscal Cutoff 
Opposite House Floor Cutoff 
Sine Die 

Education 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 
HB 1407 
(ESSB 
5395) 

Sexual health education H Education Stonier 
Requires every public school to provide comprehensive sexual health education that is consistent with 
Washington state health and physical education standards. 

 

*SHB 
2661 

Child care & early development H Approps Senn 
Fair start for kids. Expands accessible childcare and early childhood development programs. Increases 
eligibility for childcare, early childhood development programs, and services for children and families. 
Provides for increased rates, training, grants, and services for early learning providers. 

 

SSB 6073 
Menstrual products/schools S Rules 2 Dhingra 
Requires school districts and charter schools to make menstrual hygiene products available at no cost by 
the beginning of the 2021-22 school year.  
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https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1407&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2661&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2661&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6073&year=2019
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Environment 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 

E2SHB 
1110  
(SB 5412) 

Greenhouse gas/transp. fuels S Environment  Fitzgibbon 
Low Carbon Fuel Standards. Directs the Department of Ecology to adopt a rule establishing a Clean 
Fuels Program (Program) to limit greenhouse gas emissions per unit of transportation fuel energy to 
10 percent below 2017 levels by 2028 and 20 percent below 2017 levels by 2035. Passed the House 
52-44 on 1/30. 

 

SHB 2310 
(SB 6399) 

On-demand transportation emissions H Approps Fitzgibbon 
Reducing emissions from vehicles associated with on-demand transportation services. Requires 
certain service providers arranging for the transportation of people, food, or other goods to submit 
information to the Department of Ecology regarding vehicle miles driven and greenhouse gas 
emissions. Requires providers develop plans to meet greenhouse gas emission reduction goals by 
2023.  
 
Upcoming Events: Appropriations (House) Exec Session 2/8 @ 9:00 am 

 

*SHB 2311  
(SB 6272) 

Greenhouse gas emissions H Approps Slatter 
Amending state greenhouse gas emission limits for consistency with the most recent assessment of 
climate change science. Adds new interim milestones for state greenhouse gas (GHG) emission 
reduction limits in 2030 and 2040. Revises the 2050 state GHG emissions reduction limits from 50 
percent to 95 percent below 1990 levels and requires the state to achieve net zero GHG emissions. 
Amends GHG emissions reduction targets for state agencies. 
 
Upcoming Events: Appropriations (House) Exec Session 2/8 @ 9:00 am 

 

SHB 2405 
(SB 6222) 

Community property/clean energy H Approps Duerr 
Creates a commercial property assessed clean energy and resiliency (C-PACER) program that 
facilitates a partnership for the financing of energy efficiency retrofits and new construction. 
Authorizes a capital provider (private entity) to provide financing for qualifying capital 
improvements such as energy efficiency, water conservation, renewable energy, and resiliency 
projects which are repaid through assessments on property. 
 
Upcoming Events: Appropriations (House) Public Hearing 2/8 @ 9:00 am 

 

SHB 2424 
(SSB 6256) 

Heating oil insurance H Cap Budget Fitzgibbon 
Directs the Pollution Liability Insurance Agency (PLIA) to design and implement a process to close 
out existing claims under the Heating Oil Pollution Liability Insurance Program. Prohibits the Heating 
Oil Pollution Liability Insurance Program from registering heating oil tanks for coverage after July 1, 
2020. States the intent of the Legislature that the Underground Storage Tank Revolving Loan and 
Grant Program be used to assist owners and operators of heating oil tanks to remediate past 
releases and prevent future releases. Modifies the circumstances in which the State Treasurer may 
transfer funds from the Pollution Liability Insurance Program Trust Account into the PLIA 
Underground Storage Tank Revolving Account.  
 
Upcoming Events: Capital Budget (House) Exec Session 2/10 @ 9:00 am 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1110&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1110&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2310&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2311&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2405&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2424&year=2019
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*SHB 2586 
(SB 6496) 

Electrification H ENVIDPS Ramel 
Authorizes the governing body of a municipal electric utility or a public utility district to adopt a 
beneficial electrification plan and to offer incentives and other programs to accelerate the beneficial 
electrification of homes and buildings for the utility's customers. 

 

HB 2892 

Greenhouse gas emissions H Env & Energy Fitzgibbon 
Revises the definitions of emission standard to include direct or indirect releases of emissions of 
contaminants into the ambient air. Authorizes the Department of Ecology to require persons who 
produce or distribute fossil fuels that emit greenhouse gases to comply with air quality and 
emissions standards or emission limits on greenhouse gases.  

 

General Government 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 
*HB 2217 Cottage food product labels H 2nd Reading Eslick 

Removes the requirement for cottage food businesses to place their business address on product labels 
and instead requires inclusion of the cottage food permit number. 

 
*HB 2218 Cottage food sales cap H 2nd Reading Eslick 

Increases the cap on annual gross sales for cottage food products is increased from $25,000 to $50,000. 
 

 
*HB 2777 
(SB 6364) 

Microenterprise home kitchens H Local Gov Frame 
Authorizes micro-scale food operations in home kitchens. This legislation would create a permitting 
process for a new business model called “Microenterprise Home Kitchens” or MHK. A MHK is a food 
facility that is operated by a person in the person's primary domestic residence where food is stored, 
handled, prepared for, and may be served to, consumers. 

 
SHB 2414 Digital equity H Approps Gregerson 

Modeled after the federal bill, this bill would address broadband adoption and would support local 
digital inclusion plans and efforts, reaching vulnerable populations.  

 
*HB 2778 Community redevelopment financing H Finance Sullivan 

Tax increment financing. Allows a county, city, or port district to create an apportionment district for the 
purposes of financing public improvements within the district. 
 
Upcoming Events: Finance (House) Exec Session 2/7 @ 1:30 pm 

 
*SSB 6152 Foreign national ownership/campaigns S Rules 2 Salomon 

Requires certain campaign finance reports to contain certifications from each corporation making a 
contribution that the corporation's ownership comprises less than 50 percent foreign nationals. 

 
SSB 6280 Facial recognition services S Rules 2 Nguyen 

Concerning the use of facial recognition services. Requires state or local government agencies (agencies) 
to develop an accountability report and an annual report that meet certain requirements on the use of a 
facial recognition service (service). Specifies agency requirements regarding public notification, testing 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2586&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2892&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2217&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2218&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2777&Chamber=House&Year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2414&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2778&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6152&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6280&year=2019
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prior to deployment, independent testing for accuracy across distinct subpopulations, and service 
operator training. Prohibits the use of a service for ongoing surveillance, except in support of law 
enforcement and pursuant to a search warrant or agency director determination under certain 
conditions. Specifies disclosure and record keeping requirements. Establishes a facial recognition task 
force.  

 
SSB 6281 
(HB 2742) 

Personal data S WMDP2S Carlyle 
2020 Privacy Act. Provides Washington residents with the consumer personal data rights of access, 
correction, deletion, data portability, and opt out of the processing of personal data for specified 
purposes. 

 

Health Care 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 
*SHB 1317  
(SB 5392) 

Dental therapists H 2nd Reading Cody 
Establishes the practice of dental therapy, a practice allowed in multiple states that has been proven 
to greatly expand access to basic dental care in low-income communities, communities of color, and 
rural communities. 

 
*HB 1697 
(SB 5814) 

Health coverage/young adults H HC/Wellness Macri 
Extends access to Washington’s Apple Health program to youth up to age 26 who have incomes at or 
below 138% of the federal poverty level, providing significant benefits to over 17,000 youth who are 
currently unable to receive coverage due to their immigration status. 

 
SHB 2338 Mental health coverage H Approps Macri 

Prohibiting discrimination in health care coverage. Expands health coverage mental health parity 
requirements. Expands health insurance nondiscrimination provisions. 
 
Upcoming Events: Appropriations (House) Public Hearing 2/8 @ 9:00 am 

 
*SSB 6128 
(HB 2381) 

Postpartum period/Medicaid S Ways & Means Randall 
Would extend postpartum Apple Health coverage from 60 days to 12 months, with the same 
eligibility standards as the current program (up to 198% FPL).    

 
SSB 6254 
(HB 2454) 

Vapor products S Ways & Means Kuderer 
Governor request bill. Requires all vapor product manufacturers be licenses by the Liquor and 
Cannabis Board and requires manufacturers and distributors to submit a list of product ingredients to 
the Department of Health. Bans the sale of vapor products containing vitamin E acetate and flavored 
vapor products. Limits nicotine concentrations in vapor products. 

 
SB 6447 
(HB 2337) 

Opioid reversal co-prescription S Behavioral Hea Liias 
The bill would require a practitioner that prescribes a patient an opioid of 50 morphine milligrams or 
greater to also prescribe the patient an opioid overdose reversal (OOR) medication, or confirm the 
patient has a current prescription for OOR medication.  
 
Upcoming Events: Behavioral Health Subcommittee to Health & Long Term Care (Senate) Exec 
Session 2/7 @ 1:30 pm 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6281&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1317&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1697&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2338&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6128&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6254&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6447&year=2019
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SSB 6534 
(HB 2846) 

Ambulance quality assurance fee S Ways & Means Cleveland 
Creating an ambulance transport quality assurance fee. The fee will be used to provide additional 
reimbursement to ambulance transport providers, support quality improvement efforts, and pay for 
administrative costs. 

 

Housing, Homelessness & Affordability 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 

HB 1694 

Tenants/installment payments H 2nd Reading Morgan 
Requires a landlord, upon receipt of a tenant's written request, to permit the tenant to pay 
deposits, nonrefundable fees, and last month's rent in installments. Prohibits a landlord from 
imposing a fee, charging interest, or otherwise imposing a cost on a tenant because a tenant 
elects to pay in installments. 

 

SHB 2343 
(SSB 6334) 

Urban housing H Rules R Fitzgibbon 
Concerning urban housing supply. Modifies the list of planning actions that certain cities are 
encouraged to take in order to increase residential building capacity. Changes the frequency of 
transit service that triggers a cap on minimum residential parking requirements for certain 
affordable housing units, from four times per hour to two times per hour. Exempts certain 
project actions from appeal under SEPA on the basis of impacts to the aesthetics element of 
the environment if they have undergone the design review process at the appropriate local 
government level. Modifies the definition of permanent supportive housing. Directs the 
Department of Ecology to initiate the rule-making process to remove parking as an element of 
the environment and as a component of the environmental checklist. 

 

HB 2384 
(SB 6232) 

Nonprofit housing/prop. tax H Finance Doglio 
Concerning the property tax exemption for nonprofit organizations providing rental housing or 
mobile home park spaces to qualifying households. 
 
Upcoming Events: Finance (House) Exec Session 2/10 @ 8:00 am 

 

*SHB 2570 

Accessory dwelling units H ENVIDPS Gregerson 
Requires some cities and counties (covered jurisdictions) planning under the Growth 
Management Act (GMA) to adopt specified policies related to accessory dwelling units (ADUs) 
by July 1, 2021. Encourages the adoption of additional policies by exempting them from SEPA 
and GMA appeal. 

 

SHB 2607 
(SB 6304) 

Identicards/homelessness H Trans Callan 
Raises the age range to allow qualifying individuals up to age 25 to receive a Washington State 
identicard at reduced cost. Requires the Department of Children, Youth, and Families to assist 
youth under age 25 who do not have a permanent residence address to apply for identicards. 
 
Upcoming Events: Transportation (House) Public Hearing 2/10 @ 1:30 pm 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6534&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1694&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2343&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2384&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2570&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2607&year=2019
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HB 2620 
(SSB 6411) 

Multiple-unit dwellings/tax H Finance Walen 
Expanding the property tax exemption for new and rehabilitated multiple-unit dwellings in 
urban growth areas. 
 
Upcoming Events: Finance (House) Exec Session 2/7 @ 1:30 pm, Finance (House) Public 
Hearing 2/7 @ 1:30 pm, Finance (House) Exec Session 2/10 @ 8:00 am 

 

HB 2634 
(SB 6366) 

Affordable housing/REET H Finance Walen 
Provides a Real Estate Excise Tax (REET) exemption when selling to a nonprofit or public 
housing authority for affordable housing.  
 
Upcoming Events: Finance (House) Public Hearing 2/7 @ 1:30 pm, Finance (House) Exec 
Session 2/10 @ 8:00 am 

 

SHB 2732 
Landlord mitigation/victims H CRJDPS Riccelli 
Expanding the landlord mitigation program to alleviate the financial burden on victims 
attempting to flee domestic violence, sexual assault, unlawful harassment, or stalking. 

 
HB 2878 
(SB 6490) 

Criminal justice/housing H Civil R & Judi Davis 
Addressing housing concerns for individuals impacted by the criminal justice system. 

 

HB 2907 
(SB 6669) 

County business excise tax H Finance Macri 
Authorizing counties with populations over two million to impose an excise tax on business. 
 
Upcoming Events: Finance (House) Exec Session 2/7 @ 1:30 pm 

 

SSB 5366 
Urban centers/multiple units S 3rd Reading Wagoner 
Expanding the property tax exemption for new and rehabilitated multiple-unit dwellings in 
urban centers. 

 

ESSB 5946 
SEPA/shelters & encampments H Env & Energy Nguyen 
Concerning the application of the state environmental policy act to temporary shelters and 
transitional encampments. 

 

SSB 6230 
(HB 2610) 

Mobile home community sales S Rules 2 Kuderer 
Amends the Manufactured/Mobile Home Landlord-Tenant Act to require landlords to provide 
notices of opportunity to purchase with respect to the sale or lease of manufactured/mobile 
home community. 

 

*SSB 6231 
(HB 2630) 

Accessory dwelling units/tax S Ways & Means Kuderer 
Providing a limited property tax exemption for the construction of accessory dwelling units. A 
3-year exemption from the property tax for the value of physical improvements to a single-
family residence is allowed; this bill extends that exemption specifically to ADUs.  

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2620&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2634&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2732&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2878&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2907&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5366&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5946&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6230&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6231&year=2019


 
Page 7 of 17          *New to report this week 

SSB 6378 
(HB 2724) 

Residential tenants S Rules 2 Kuderer 
Concerning residential tenant protections. Modifies the uniform 14-day pay or vacate notice 
and unlawful detainer action summons. Authorizes stay of an unlawful detainer judgement if 
the tenant will be able to pay the judgement with emergency rental assistance funds. Requires 
the tenant to provide a copy of the pledge of emergency rental assistance to stay the 
judgement and for the landlord to provide documentation necessary to possess such 
assistance. Removes the prohibition on eligibility for judicial discretion if a tenant is issues 
three or more 14-day notices within the previous 12-month period. 

 

SB 6379 
(HB 2453) 

Residential tenants S Housing Stabil  Kuderer 
Requires a landlord to have a business reason to evict a tenant and requires more than 20 
days notice. Includes month to month tenancies 

 

*SSB 6512 
School employee housing S Ways & Means Rolfes 
Allows any school district to build teachers' cottages or other single or multifamily housing for 
school district employees when directed by a vote of the district to do so. 

 

*SSB 6617 

Accessory dwelling units S Rules 2 Liias 
Requires counties planning under the Growth Management Act and cities within such counties 
to authorize up to two accessory dwelling units (ADUs) per lot, to not require the provision of 
off-street parking for ADUs close to major transit stops, and to not require an owner to occupy 
an ADU or other housing unit on the lot unless the owner owns more than five ADUs or the 
ADU is a short-term rental. 

 

Public Safety 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 

HB 1374 
(MID PG 7) 

Local gov firearm regulation (MID PG 7) 
Dead. Was Heard in H 
Civil R & Judiciary 1/21 
but did not survive policy 
cutoff on 2/7 

Macri 

Repeals the statute that preempts local jurisdictions from adopting laws relating to firearms.  
 
WTBD:  
Repeals the statute that preempts local jurisdictions from adopting laws relating to firearms and creates a new section providing 
local gov can adopt laws that are more restrictive than the state.  
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  
BACKGROUND:  
Currently Local gov can regulate firearms where there is a likelihood people or property will be jeopardized or in stadiums or 
convention centers or school zones.      

 

SHB 2467 
(BTM PG 7) 

Firearm background checks (BTM PG 7) 
Passed House Judiciary 
on 1/24 and was exec’d 
out of Approps this Sat? 

Hansen 

Establishing a centralized single point of contact background check system for firearms transfers. 
 
WTBD: 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6378&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6379&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6512&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6617&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1374&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2467&year=2019
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Requires WSP establish a Firearms Background Check system to serve as a single point of contact for firearms dealers to conduct 
background checks required under state and federal law. Requires dealers use the system and creates the Washington Firearms 
Background Check Accountability Board to oversee the new system.   
 
BACKGROUND:  
Legislation enacted in 2019 directed OFM to conduct a study on our decentralized background check system in WA State and to 
streamline that system into a single point of contact system managed by the WSP. Information from the following databases will 
be aggregated through the WSP system:  
 

• The background check must include a check of the following databases:  
• the National Instant Criminal Background Check System;  
• the Washington Crime Information Center and Washington State Identification System;  
• the Health Care Authority electronic database;  
• the Federal Bureau of Investigation national data exchange database and any available  
• repository of statewide law enforcement record management systems information; and  
• the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) case management system.  

 
There is an appeal process if someone is denied. Exempt from inspection under the Public Records Act. The oversight board 
includes members of WSP, WASPC, the general public, firearm safety advocates. 

 

*HB 2632 
(SB 6295) 
(BTM PG 7) 

False reporting (BTM PG 7) Passed H Public Safety 
2/6 and in Rules Valdez 

Modifies the crime of false reporting and elevates the crime to a new first or second-degree felony 
offense if it involves certain conduct and results in death or bodily harm. 
 
WBD:  under this new law false reporting can be charged as gross misdemeanor for false reporting as it is in current law, and is elevated 
class C felony offense if it causes bodily harm and a Class B felony if someone is killed as a result. It also creates a civil cause of action 
to recover costs and damages for the victims.  
 
BACKGROUND: False Reporting is classified as a gross misdemeanor in current law and someone can be charged with False 
Reporting if they report a fire, explosion, crime, or other emergency knowing it is a crime and they knew this would result in an 
evacuation of a building, place of assembly, or transportation facility, or cause public inconvenience or alarm.  
 

• Misdemeanor = 90 max confinement and $1K max fine  
• Gross misdemeanor = 364 days max confinement and $5K max fine 
• Class C felony = 5 years max confinement and $10K max fine  
• Class B felony = 10 years max confinement and $10K max fine  
• Class A felony = life max confinement and $50K max fine  

Juvenile Diversion. If a juvenile commit first, second, or third-degree False Reporting, and it is his or her first violation, then the 
prosecutor may divert the case.  

Civil Liability for False Reporting. If a person is convicted of false reporting in any degree, he or she is liable for the reasonable costs of 
the emergency response incurred by the public agency.  

An individual who is a victim of False Reporting may bring a civil action against the person who committed the offense.  
 

    

    

    

2SSB 5164 
(HB 1971) 
(TOP PG 8) 

Public assistance crime victims (TOP PG 8) 
Passed Sen Human 
Services 1/21 and 
scheduled for exec 
session in Ways today at 
10am 

Saldaña 

Expands eligibility of the food assistance program for legal immigrants, state family assistance 
programs, and medical care services (MCS) to include victims of certain crimes including human 
trafficking. 
 
WDB: 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2632&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5164&year=2019
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Would make victims of human trafficking and other crimes eligible for food, cash and medical assistance if they do not qualify for 
SNAP, TANF and Medicaid due to their immigration status. They must meet the income eligibility requirements for these 
programs and have filed or be preparing to file for asylum or a T or U visa with the appropriate federal authority.  
 
BACKGROUND: 

• Congress created the T Visa nonimmigrant status visa and the U Visa for crime victims in 2000 under the Victims of 
Trafficking and Violence Prevention Act to help victims of trafficking or other crimes who need to stay in the US if they are 
deemed admissible and would suffer hardship if removed from the US.  

• A person who is a victim of a severe form of trafficking in persons is eligible for public benefits to the same extent as a 
person admitted into the United States as a refugee.  

• Food Assistance Program for Legal Immigrants (FAP) is a state program for those not eligible for SNAP because of the 
loophole in federal law that doesn’t permit them to access these federal benefits their alien status. Income and asset 
levels still apply.  

• Similarly, State Family Assistance Programs provide cash assistance to legal immigrants who aren’t eligible for 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) the federal cash assistance program.  

To the extend funds are available, Medical Care Services (MCS which is regulated by the HCA) must be made available depending 
on availability to those who qualify but aren’t eligible for Medicaid. 

 

SSB 6077 
(SHB 2240) 
(TOP PG 8) 

High capacity magazines (TOP PG 8) 
Passed Sen Law and 
Justice on 1/23 and on 
the 2nd reading calendar 
in the Senate (look up 
Erin’s notes) 

Kuderer 

Makes it unlawful for a person to manufacture, possess, distribute, import, transfer, sell, offer for sale, 
purchase, or otherwise transfer a large capacity magazine. 
 
WBD: 
Makes it unlawful for a person to possess large capacity magazine that accepts more than 10 rounds of ammunition. (15 House) 
 
BACKGROUND: 
Allows people who owned HCMs before the law takes effect to continue to possess HCMs prohibiting sale or transfer to anyone 
other than a licensed dealer. Washington law does not impose regulations relating to ammunition or ammunition magazines, 
aside from a requirement that firearms dealers must obtain a license to sell ammunition. In 1994, Congress enacted a ban on 
assault weapons and magazines, but exempted assault weapons and large capacity ammunition feeding devices manufactured 
before the law became effective. This law was subject to a sunset provision and expired in 2004.  

 

SSB 6288 
(UPR MID PG 

8) 

Office of firearm violence (UPR MID PG 8) 
 
Exec’d out of S Ways on 
2/6? 

Dhingra 

Creates the Office of Firearm Violence Prevention within the Department of Commerce. Duties of the 
Office Include: collecting data and identifying gaps in data needed for ongoing analysis, policy 
development and implementation of firearm violence intervention and prevention strategies; 
researching, identifying and recommending policy options; working with the Office of Crime Victim 
Advocacy to identify opportunities to better support victims of firearm violence; and administering a 
grant program on firearm violence intervention and prevention.  
 
WBD:  
Creates the Washington Office of Firearm Violence Prevention and a community grant program aimed at reducing firearm 
violence and specifically charged with: 

• working with LEAs, county prosecutors, researchers, and public health agencies to improve available data collection 
methods, and to identify gaps in data needed for ongoing analysis and policy recommendations;  

• Seek nonstate funding to aid the research and implementation of firearm violence prevention strategies;  
• working with the office of crime victim’s advocacy to identify opportunities to provide support to victims;  
• Creates the Washington Firearm Violence Intervention and Prevention Grant Program; for local jurisdictions impacted 

by gun violence  
 

BACKGROUND: 
A competitive grants program will support evidence-based violence reduction initiatives focusing on intervention services to the 
population segment identified as having the highest risk of perpetrating or being victimized by firearm violence.  
 
A competitive process administered by a selection cmte including people who have been impacted by violence, formerly 
incarcerated persons and those with experience implementing evidence-based gun violence reduction initiatives, will award 
cities disproportionately impacted by violence and to community-based organizations serving the residents of those cities.  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6077&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6288&year=2019
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Under this bill the "Shots Fired" project could be extended to other parts of the state.  
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/crime/prosecutors-shots-fired-project-collects-king-county-gun-violence-data-for-the-first-
time/ 

 

*SB 6307 
(MID PG 8) 

Mass violence threats (MID PG 8) 
Passed Sen Law and 
Justice on 2/6 and on the 
2nd reading calendar  

Liias 

Creates the offense of communicating a threat of mass violence as a class C felony ranked at level IV 
on the sentencing grid. Authorizes responding law enforcement officers to seize firearms, other 
dangerous weapons, ammunition, and any concealed carry permit with probable cause when there are 
reasonable grounds to believe they were used, or threatened to be used in the offense or in plain sight 
or discovered during a lawful search. 
 
WBD: Creates the offense of communicating a threat of mass violence as a class C felony for any threat to commit mass violence 
at a school, church or a defendant’s workplace and authorizes firearm seizure by law enforcement.  

BACKGROUND: Approximately 40 percent of mass public shooters make threats prior to their attack and, while there are red 
flag laws in place enabling family and law enforcement to petition courts to remove weapons from dangerous people, actually 
criminalizing the threat is another public policy approach.  

In a small number of states, communicating a threat of mass violence is a crime. While not a complete list, North Carolina 
recently created the crime of communicating a threat of mass violence at schools and places of religious worship. Maryland's 
crime of communicating a threat of mass violence requires a threat to five or more people or a threat that results in a lockdown 
or evacuation of the threatened location. Florida has a threat of mass violence crime, but the threat must be in writing, including 
an electronic communication.  

 

Safety Net & Civil Rights 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 

SHB 2567 
(SB 6522) 
(TWRDS BTM 
PG 8) 

Court arrests (TWRDS BTM PG 8) Passed House Civil Rights 
on 2/5 and now in Rules Thai 

Aims to protect all people from warrantless civil immigration arrests at courts, prohibits court 
staff and prosecutors from using state and local justice resources to report people for federal 
immigration enforcement, and requires courts to collect data on immigration agents’ 
surveillance of courthouses in Washington.  
 
WTBD:  
Restricts data sharing and civil arrests inside or near state court facilities with ICE without a court order, if it is a 
criminal matter or the individual is in contempt of court.                                                                                                                                      
 
BACKGROUND: 
Warrantless civil arrests negatively impact the willingness of people to seek justice in our court system.  This includes 
many of the most vulnerable members of our society including victims of sexual violence and domestic abuse, 
trafficking and other crimes.  
 
There have been 200 documented civil arrests in courthouses across WA to date.  ICE agents, often in plainclothes, are 
making these warrantless civil arrests which deters people from going to court.  Similar to KWWA, prohibits sharing 
immigration info with federal authorities unless connected with a criminal investigation.                                                                  
 
Would decrease racial inequity in regard to immigrant access to court services including, obtaining domestic violence 
and sexual assault protection orders, child support orders, seeking back wages, testifying in civil and criminal 
proceedings, and getting married. 

 
Long-term care workers (BTM PG 8) Passed House Labor 2/6 

and referred to Approps Stonier 

https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/crime/prosecutors-shots-fired-project-collects-king-county-gun-violence-data-for-the-first-time/
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/crime/prosecutors-shots-fired-project-collects-king-county-gun-violence-data-for-the-first-time/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6307&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2567&year=2019
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HB 2681 
(SSB 6205) 

(BTM PG 8) 

Requires home care agencies and the consumer directed employers to establish certain 
protocols related to employee discrimination and abuse. Requires the Department of Labor 
and Industries (L&I) to convene a stakeholder work group to recommend best practices for 
training employers, workers, and clients to keep home care settings free from discrimination 
and abusive conduct. Authorizes L&I to assess a civil penalty up to $5,000 for instances of 
noncompliance. 
 
WDB: 
Requires home care agencies adopt policies to address discrimination and abusive behavior by January 1, 2021, 
update their policy annually, ensure employees are properly trained. The bill also requires employees be notified if a 
client has a history of abusive behavior and prevents retaliation if they request reassignment as a result.  
 
Also establishes a workgroup to recommend best practices for training and gives L&I authority to investigate 
agencies and assess a civil penalty up to $5K for each instance of noncompliance by an employing agency.  
 
The City's domestic worker protection bills specifically exclude home care workers who are paid through public 
funds so this legislation will extend worker protections to a portion of City domestic workers who are not presently 
covered by City law.  
 
BACKGROUND: 
Discrimination does not include a client refusing to hire or terminate an employee based on gender preferences. The 
policy must define discrimination, harassment, and abusive conduct, describe how the employer will protect 
employees against retaliatory behavior; provide resources for a worker to utilize; and  include any additional 
recommendations from the training work group convened by L&I.  
 
Establishes a workplace violence committee to develop and monitor their violence prevention plan.  
Workplace violence committee consisting of employee-elected individuals, employer-selected individuals, and at least 
one client representative, is required to develop and monitor the plan.  

L&I is directed to convene a stakeholder work group made up of workers, clients and employers recommending best 
practices for training employers, long-term care workers, and clients to keep home care settings free from 
discrimination and abusive conduct while maintaining the ability for individuals who need services to access these 
services and maintaining the ability to provide services. The work group must include:  

Enforcement. L&I is authorized to investigate home care agencies and the CDE to ensure compliance with the policy, 
prevention plan, informing workers, and recording and reporting requirements, and may assess a civil penalty of up 
to $5,000 for each instance of noncompliance.  

 
    

    

*SB 5339 
(HB 1488) 

(TP PG 9) 

Death penalty elimination (TP PG 9) 
Passed Sen 28-18 on 1/31 
and referred to H Public 
Safety 

Carlyle 

Eliminates the death penalty and requires life imprisonment without possibility of release or 
parole as the sentence for aggravated first-degree murder. 
 
WBD: 
Eliminates the death penalty and provides that all persons convicted of aggravated first-degree murder must be sentenced to 
life in prison without the possibility of release or parole.  
 
BACKGROUND: 
Under the death penalty statute, a death sentence may be imposed only against those persons convicted of aggravated (means 
premeditated) first-degree murder and only after a special sentencing proceeding has been held to determine whether the 
death penalty is warranted.  
 

• Examples of aggravated murder include: 
• the victim was a police officer performing official duties, or a judge, juror, witness, or attorney and the murder 

was related to the victim's official duties;  
• the murder was committed in the course of, in furtherance of, or in immediate flight from, certain crimes, such as 

first- or second-degree robbery, rape, or burglary;  
• the murder was committed in exchange for money or to conceal the commission of a crime;  
• the person committed the murder to obtain or maintain a position in the hierarchy of an organization; and  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2681&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5339&year=2019
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• there was more than one victim and the murders were part of a common scheme or plan, or the result of a single 
act.  

• A moratorium on executions was put in place by the Governor in 2014. In October 2018, the Court declared 
Washington's death penalty to be unconstitutional, concluding that the death penalty was administered in an 
arbitrary and racially biased manner  

 

*SSB 6228  
(HB 2292) 

(TP PG 9) 

Voter eligibility/felony (TP PG 9) 
Passed Sen State Gov on 
1/24 and on 2nd Reading 
in Senate 

Kuderer 

Automatically restores voting rights for persons as soon as a sentence of total confinement 
under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections (DOC) is ended. 
 
WBD: 
Under currently law people with felony convictions can have their right to vote restored if they have completed their 
community custody.  This bill would make approximately 9K people serving community eligible to register to vote 
upon being released from prison.  
 
BACKGROUND: 
If a person does not comply with their legal financial obligations (LFOs) their voting rights may be revoked.  
 
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/politics/state-senate-democrats-advance-bill-to-restore-washington-felons-voting-rights-faster/ 

 

SSB 6247 
(HB 2511) 

(UPR MID PG 
9) 

Domestic worker protections (UPR MID PG 9) 
Passed Sen Labor and 
Commerce 2/6 and is in 
Rules 

Saldaña 

Requires employers of domestic workers, and individuals who pay wages for services of 
domestic workers, to provide minimum wages, overtime, and meal and rest breaks, and to 
have terms and expectations of employment in written agreements. 
 
WBD: 

• Requires employers of domestic workers provide minimum wage, overtime, and meal and rest breaks, a written 
contract outlining the terms of employment and prohibits adverse action  

• Prohibits hiring entities from taking adverse action for workers exercising their rights  
• Establishes notification requirements before terminating employment, procedures for administrative 

investigations, civil penalties and a private cause of action 
 

BACKGROUND: The Washington Law Against Discrimination (WLAD) prohibits discrimination in employment based on 
the person's protected status, such as race, creed, color, national origin, sex, disability, and other protected categories. The 
WLAD only applies to employers who employ eight or more persons and does not include any nonprofit religious or 
sectarian organization. An aggrieved person may file a complaint with the Human Rights Commission or may file a private 
cause of action in court.  
 
Employment standards and benefits generally apply only if an employer-employee relationship exists. The Minimum Wage 
Act, the industrial insurance laws, and the unemployment insurance laws each have various exemptions for domestic 
services. For example, persons doing "casual labor" in a home, and persons whose duties required they sleep or reside at their 
place of employment, are exempt from the Minimum Wage Act.  
 
A "domestic worker" includes hourly and salaried employees and includes any worker who works for one or more hiring 
entity and works in residences as a nanny, house cleaner, home care worker, cook, gardener, or household manager, or for 
other domestic service purposes. Domestic worker does not include individuals who provide care subsidized under the 
Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) or babysitting, dog walking, pet sitting, or house sitting.  
 
A hiring entity employing a domestic worker must pay min wage, uninterrupted 30 min meal break if worked 5 hours, allow 
10 min rest breaks for more than 3 hours work and may NOT retain documents, threaten a worker, take adverse action for 
organizing  

Termination of Employment. 
The hiring entity must provide a minimum of two-weeks’ notice before terminating employment. For live-in domestic 
workers, a minimum of four-weeks’ notice is required. A domestic worker is entitled to severance pay if a hiring entity fails 
to comply with notification requirements.  

Administrative Enforcement and Private Cause of Action. 
A domestic worker may file a complaint with the Department within three years of when the alleged violation occurred. The 
Department may investigate and, within 60 days of the filing of the complaint, must either issue a citation assessing a civil 
penalty or, if the allegations are not substantiated, a closure letter.   

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6228&year=2019
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/politics/state-senate-democrats-advance-bill-to-restore-washington-felons-voting-rights-faster/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6247&year=2019
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SSB 6313 
(HB 2558) 
(MID PG 9) 

Young voters (MID PG 9) 
Passed Sen State Gov on 
1/29 and referred to 
Rules 

Liias 

Allows persons to vote in a primary election if they are 17 years old but will be 18 by the 
general election. Requires that DOL provide an automated process for 16 and 17-year olds to 
sign up to register to vote. Requires that public universities, if requested by the student 
government, and certain public university branch campuses open student engagement 
centers to provide ballots. 
 
WBD: 
Allows 17-year old’s to vote in the primary election if they turn 18 by the general election. Also requires DOL provide an 
automated opt-out vs. opt in process for 16 and 17-year old’s getting their license and requires universities with over 5K 
students open engagement centers (given the success at CWU) providing ballots and voter registration materials.    
 
BACKGROUND: 
The Democratic Party allows 17-year-olds to participate in caucuses; those voters should be able to vote in state and local 
primaries which may be just as important to them. Student engagement centers include same-day voter registration and ballot 
printing, which are currently located off-campus and geographically inaccessible for many students.  
 
Registering to Vote. Persons who are age 18 or older and who are United States citizens that have lived in the state, county, 
and precinct for 30 days immediately preceding an election are entitled to vote. The National Voter Registration Act requires 
states to provide the opportunity to register to vote for federal elections.  
 
Washington adopted the Motor Voter Act, requiring the Department of Licensing (DOL) to provide voter registration 
services. Before issuing an original license, identification card, or license renewal, the licensing agent must determine if the 
applicant wants to register to vote or transfer an existing voter registration. If so, the agent provides the applicant with a voter  
registration form with instructions and records the applicant's request to register to vote. In addition to DOL, the following 
agencies and programs offer voter registration:  

• The Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Community Services Division; Ÿ the DSHS Aging and 
Long-Term Support Administration; 

• the DSHS Division of Vocational Rehabilitation; 
• the DSHS Developmental Disabilities Administration;  
• he DSHS Aging and Disabilities Service Administration; Ÿ the Department of Services for the Blind; 

he Health Care Authority; and 
• the Health Benefits Exchange (HBE).  

 
Automatic Voter Registration. In 2018, the Legislature passed E2SHB 2595, which provides for an automatic voter 
registration process at two state agencies. At DOL, an applicant for an enhanced driver's license or identicard, or for a change 
of address on an existing enhanced driver's license or identicard, is automatically registered to vote or update an existing 
registration if the applicant is over 18 years of age and United States citizenship is verified unless the applicant opts not to 
register. HBE transmits the name, address, and date of birth of each consenting applicant who is a citizen and at least 18 
years old to the Secretary of State (SOS) for the purpose of the applicant being registered to vote. The Governor and SOS 
may require other agencies to provide automatic voter registration.  
 
Sign-up to Register to Vote. In 2018, the Legislature also passed 2SHB 1513, which allows certain minors to sign up to 
register to vote. A person who is at least 16 years of age and who meets all other voter registration requirements may register 
to vote electronically, or at any location where voter registration is permitted, but is not added to the state voter list until such 
time as the person will be 18 years of age by the next election.  
 

 

Transportation (MID PG 9) 
Bill Details Status Sponsor 

 
 
ESHB 
1793  
(SB 5789) 
(MID PG 9) 

Automated traffic safety cameras S Transportation Fitzgibbon 
Allows automated traffic safety cameras to be used to detect the following: Stoplight violations; railroad 
crossing violations; stopping when traffic obstructed violations; stopping at intersection or crosswalk 
violations; public transportation only lane violations; stopping, standing, or parking violations at locations 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6313&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1793&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1793&year=2019
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restricted for emergency response vehicle entry or exit or the boarding or disembarking of public 
transportation vehicles, including public ferries.  

 
 
HB 2362 
(SB 6652) 

Local transportation revenue H Trans Ramos 
Creates a new 2 percent transportation utility tax, increases in the existing transportation benefit district 
sales tax authority to 0.4 percent and makes it councilmanic, and allows local governments to impose a 
five cent gas tax.   

 
 
SB 6606 

Regional transit authorities S Transportation Liias 
Requires Sound Transit to transition from the 1996 car tab valuation schedule to the 2006 valuation 
schedule, which would reduce ST revenue by $1 billion, or $2.9 billion long term if they bond to replace 
the immediate lost revenue. Retains the existing 1.1% MVET that was repealed by I-976. By making a 
legislative change to an Initiative the bill requires a 2/3 vote of the legislature. 

 
 

OTHER BILLS MAY COME UP 
 
 SB  xxxx            Sen Pedersen higher ed funding bill:  
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/politics/washington-lawmakers-approve-change-to-business-tax-to-fund-college-affordability/ 

 
 
Highly Capable Students             SB 5354/HB 1641               Rivers&Rolfes /Vick&Stonier 
https://www.seattletimes.com/opinion/editorials/expand-instruction-for-more-gifted-kids/ 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?Year=2019&BillNumber=5354 
 
WBD: 
Would require universal screening for highly capable students and train educators to recognize and support these students.  
 
BACKGROUND: 
Requires districts implement procedures for assessment and referral, screening, and placement of their most highly capable 
students. Requires the state to fund student transportation for HiCap programs, prohibits district from requiring parent 
transportation and requires districts provide a minimum of 2 hours of professional development for principals and counselors 
to recognize students who may qualify.  
 
Highly capable learning plans.                         SB 6282 Pedersen/ NO COMPANION              heard Sen Early Learning 1/22 
https://www.seattletimes.com/opinion/editorials/expand-instruction-for-more-gifted-kids/ 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6282&Initiative=false&Year=2019 
 
WBD:  
In response to Seattle School Board Directors voting recently to phase out Washington Middle School’s Highly Capable Cohort 
(HCC), which separates some high achieving students from their peers for instruction in designated classrooms or cohorts. Sen 
Pedersen’s bill gives districts 30 days to develop individual learning plans for affected students when dissolving Highly Capable 
Cohort programs. His bill doesn’t specifically protect designated cohorts whereas River’s bill does.  
 
Sexual Assault Protocols for Hospitals       SB 6158   Dhingra                   Passed Senate HC 1/22 and in Rules  
WBD: 
Directs the Office of the Attorney General to convene a task force to develop model protocols for hospitals and clinics to ensure 
a coordinated community response for sexual assault victims.  
 
BACKGROUND: 
Creates the sexual assault coordinated community response task force within the AG’s office . The purpose of the task force is 
to develop model protocols ensuring adult or minor sexual assault victims receive a coordinated community response when 
presenting for care at any hospital or clinic following a sexual assault. The task force members must include four legislators, 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2362&year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6606&year=2019
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/politics/washington-lawmakers-approve-change-to-business-tax-to-fund-college-affordability/
https://www.seattletimes.com/opinion/editorials/expand-instruction-for-more-gifted-kids/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?Year=2019&BillNumber=5354
https://www.seattletimes.com/opinion/editorials/expand-instruction-for-more-gifted-kids/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6282&Initiative=false&Year=2019
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two sexual assault survivor representatives, two providers from community sexual assault programs, two representatives of 
SANEs, two representatives of children's advocacy centers and one representative from the following organizations:  
 
WASPC, Prosecutors, Defenders, AWC, Counties, Superior Court Judges, Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs, Hospital 
Association, WA Medical Association, Office of the AG, SANEs. The task force must collaborate with state and local government, 
and medical facilities to implement coordinated community responses, including access to specific services, potential 
assistance from the crime victims' compensation program, legal advocacy, privacy of medical records, and access to necessary 
information among responding professionals and service providers. Additionally, the task force is required to research: best 
practices for collaborative and coordinated responses; existing gaps in trauma-informed, victim-centered care, and support 
and resources; securing nonstate funding for implementing a standardized and coordinated community response; andpolicy 
options for providing a coordinated community response. The task force must report its recommendations to the Legislature 
and Governor by December 1st of each year  
 
Eliminating the 1% cap on property tax                     Pollet (HB 2145)                    House Finance last year and is still there 
WBD: 
Removes the 1% cap on property tax population growth + inflation 
Rep Pollet’s bill introduced in 2019 is still alive but there has been no movement on it to date during the 2020 session  
 
 
 
 
 
Private detention facilities             6442 Saldana/Ortiz Self 2576                   Hearing Sen Human Services 1/29  
WBD Prohibits private detention facilities in WA State exempting those that already operate under a contract to continue until 
the end of the contractual obligation.  
 

WSLC PRIORITIES 
 

WORKER PROTECTION ACT    HB 1965 Hansen                House Rules  
WBD:  creates a mechanism for workers to file whistleblower complaints when current workplace laws are violated.   
BACKGROUND:  Enforcement agencies have long backlogs, and this is a tool for workers to enforce their own Wage and hour, 
equal pay, health and safety and anti-discrimination laws.  
 
BID LISTING        HB 1571/SB 5457 
WBD: HB 1571/SB 5457 would end “post-bid shopping” by having subcontractors listed in all bids.  
BACKGROUND: Some public works contractors alter their lists of subcontractors after winning bids so they can pay lower 
wages and boost profits at the expense of taxpayers — and project quality. 
 
PUBLIC EMPLOYEE PRIVACY   HB 1888 
WBD: HB 1888 takes common sense steps to safeguard personal data—like birthdays and data that reveal addresses—to 
protect public workers’ safety and guard against identity theft and fraud.  
BACKGROUND: Our state has robust public disclosure laws, and that’s a good thing. But it exposes the personal and financial 
information of public workers to scam artists. 
 
SECURE SCHEDULING SB 5717/HB 1491  
WBD—SB 5717/HB 1491 ensures that people who work for large food and retail businesses have protections: two-week 
notice of schedules, adequate rests between shifts, and flexibility to swap shifts.  
BACKGROUND: Many retail and food service workers struggle with unpredictable schedules that make it difficult to manage 
family needs, attend school, or balance a second job. And not knowing how many hours to expect leaves many scrambling to 
pay bills and rent. 
 
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE FOR CAREGIVERS — Job search requirements for unemployed workers who care for loved 
ones often require those workers to take jobs that do not allow them to provide care. These standards should be updated so 
workers are not forced to choose between an uncommon shift and caring for their family.  
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q WAGE LIENS (HB 1514/SB 6053) — When workers’ wages have been stolen, some employers dissolve their businesses and 
form new LLCs to avoid paying up. HB 1514 will implement wage liens, providing all workers with an avenue to secure their 
owed wages, just like construction workers and farm workers can through mechanics and crop liens.  

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES AND BAILIFFS COLLECTIVE BARGAINING (HB 2017 and 1333/SB 6367) — ALJs at the 
Office of Administrative Hearings and bailiffs for King County courts are denied the right to join together and collectively 
bargain, despite their counterparts at DOL, DOC, and the BIIA having those rights. The state should resolve this inequity by 
allowing these workers to come together to form a union.  

TRANSPARENCY AND ACCOUNTABILITY IN GOVERNMENT CONTRACTING (HB 1521/SB 5655) — This requires state 
agencies and local governments to evaluate the cost of outsourcing work to private contractors and to conduct follow- ups to 
ensure contractors meet their obligations. It also calls for accountability if companies fail to perform their duties.  

Tribal 
In her most recent email update, Representative Lekanoff (D-Bow) highlighted the priority tribal 
legislation she is working on this session. It includes salmon recovery legislation HB 2549 and HB 2552, a 
water resource policy bill HB 2553, as well as HB 2548 concerning tribally controlled colleges and 
universities. Lekanoff also noted she is working on a Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women proviso in 
the supplemental budget. 
 
Working Families Tax Credit 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1527&Year=2019&Initiative=false 
Special Ed Funding: 
 
Majorities  
 
DNA fix  
 
Med reimbursement rates  
 
From Cody’s report:  
 
The "Fair Start for Kids Act" (SHB 2661) intends to improve the workforce by providing childcare 
support. Specifically, the bill increases eligibility for childcare, early childhood development programs, 
and services for children and families. It provides for increased rates, training, grants, and services for 
early learning providers. The bill passed out of the policy committee and had a February 6 public hearing 
in its fiscal committee. 
 
Attorney General Ferguson (D) has released a $10 million proposal for the 2020 Legislature to fund a cold 
case unit with the purpose of reopening unsolved sexual assault cases. Representative Orwall (D-Kent) 
supports the proposal and points to the large number of sexual assault kits that have been recently 
processed, as noted in this Q13 News article. In related news, sexual assault survivors are backing a bill 
(SHB 2318) introduced to tighten the requirements for storing DNA evidence collected from those 
convicted of a sexual-related crime. As explained in this KIRO News article, the cost of implementing the 
proposed changes is $34,000. The bill had a February 5 public hearing in its fiscal committee. 
 
Tribal 
"Right to Tribal Regalia Act" HB 2551, with the intent of removing barriers for cultural expression for 
tribal students at graduation ceremonies, had a February 4 public hearing and was passed out of its 
committee on February 7. This legislation is similar to existing laws in North Dakota, Montana and 
California. Senator Billig (D-Spokane) sponsored the Senate companion (SB 6607) and said that the bill 
Arledge Group 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1527&Year=2019&Initiative=false
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February 8, 2020 
Page 4 of 12 
was introduced due to a concern raised by one of his constituents who is a member of the Spokane Tribe 
of Indians. It was passed out of its committee on February 7. 
On February 6, two bills pertaining to Native American behavioral health were scheduled for executive 
action in the Behavioral Health Sub-committee. SB 6258 would address the suicide and addiction crisis 
among American Indians and Alaska Natives, but it did not pass out of committee. SB 6259, which intends 
to improve the Native American behavioral health system, was passed out of committee. 
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